gtp logo

Location information

Listed 100 (total found 103) sub titles with search on: Main pages  for wider area of: "IONIAN ISLANDS Island complex GREECE" .


Main pages (103)

Miscellaneous

AGIA EFIMIA (Village) KEFALLONIA
  Aghia Efimia is situated at the eastern part of the island and it is an exceptionally picturesque village with rich vegetation. At its port ships from the opposite coast (Sterea Ellada) put in. Aghia Efimia is developed as far as tourism is concerned and offers every possible amenity to the visitor.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Agii Douli Community

AGII DOULI (Village) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 94255

AGIOS GORDIOS (Settlement) CORFU
A relatively new settlement in a charming location with blue water and golden sand. Rightly regarded as one of the island's finest beaches. From it you can visit the picturesque village of Sinarades, and Aerostato, which took its name from a coffee shop which seemed literally to be hanging from the heavens.

Agios Ilias Community

AGIOS ILIAS (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 39225
Fax: +30 26450 39225
Above Syvros is the village of Ayios Ilias, built at a very high altitude. It is the second highest mountain village on the island after Englouvi and the vegetation here is quite sparse because of the altitude. Ayios Ilias was an old refuge for the locals seeking sanctuary from the regular pirate raids, and flocks of sheep and goats were also kept here in the summer. Marantochori, a large village with a long tradition, lies on the central road which leads from Nydri to Vasiliki.

Agios Mattheos Community

AGIOS MATTHEOS (Small town) CORFU
Tel: +30 26610 75142
A large, but charming village, with buildings both new and old. A paved road leads to the Monastery of the Pantokrator at the top of the hill. Also at the top of the hill is the Hole of Pelaos, a cave which is said to communicate with the sea. In the fertile Gardiki district there is another Venetian castle, a twin to Aggelokastro. It too belonged to the Despotate of Epirus. It is octagonal, with towers at each corner. As happened elsewhere in Greece, the remains of ancient temples have been incorporated into the walls of the castle.

Agios Nikitas Community

AGIOS NIKITAS (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 97469
Fax: +30 26450 97465
  Twelve kilometers form the capital of the prefecture, adjoining the sea, looms the traditional fishing village of Agios Nikitas. Traditional houses, amphitheatrically arranged in the verdant landscape around the sea, give their own gift to the passage of time. Very quiet with a view to the endless azure of the Ionian Sea and the misty tops of the mountains of Epirus, it attracts the visitor like a magnet, calling him to live in the pure nostalgia of nature.
  The crystal clear waters at the beaches from Langada to the village, the fresh fish and also the traditional hospitality of the people of Lefkada, will transport you to a different way of life and will fascinate you. Further west of the settlement is the unspoiled sandy beach of Mylos, which is sure to win the heart of even the most demanding visitor.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Agrafi Community

AGRAFI (Village) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 31100

Anafonitria Community

ANAFONITRIA (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
Tel: +30 26950 31109, 31211

Ano Volimes Community

ANO VOLIMES (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
Tel: +30 26950 31499, 31214

Anogi Community

ANOGI (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 33509

ANTIPAXOS (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
The only harbour on Antipaxi with level land on the shore in Agrapidia. Larger vessels do not moor there, the water being too shallow. The only village, Agrapidia, is set amid vineyards. The beautiful beaches of the island can be reached with speedboats, which every day shuttle to and fro with tourists from Paxi. There are some small tavernas where one can find food and relaxation after a day at the beach. There is a stream of fresh water coming into the sea at Kaloroi Beach. Antipaxi is a place for a quiet, peaceful holiday.

This text is cited December 2004 from the Ionian Islands Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image


Antiperni Community

ANTIPERNI (Village) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 31273

ANTISAMOS (Beach) KEFALLONIA
A pleasant surprise awaits the visitor after reaching Dichalia and starting to descend to Antisamos Beach. A splendid canvas of green is painted in all imaginable shades of blue and white.
From that vintage location, the view of the emerald beach is an awesome experiences for the senses, every single time.
The turquoise waters of the Ionian Sea reach out to embrace the incredibly white pebbles which in turn fade into the magnificent green surrounding scenery of the mountainside.
Antisamos is one of the best beaches on the island and the entire Ionian region as well.
It is this untamed beauty that captured the imagination of the producers of "Captain Corelli's Mandolin" when they decided to use it as a location for the filming of the movie.
This text (extract) is cited April 2010 from the Municipality of Symi web site.

Argostoli Community

ARGOSTOLI (Town) KEFALLONIA
  Argostoli, with a population of 8000 people, became Cephalonia’s capital in 1757.
  Even though many of the town’s imposing mansions were destroyed during the 1953 earthquakes, the new town which was built kept the quaint, Ionian style with well-laid out streets, spacious squares, many trees and alleys and a very lively port.
  In the centre of the city there are the Administrative House, the Town Hall, the Archaeological Museum, the Korgialenio Popular Art Museum, the Korgialenios Library and the newly-built "Kefalos" Theatre.
  At the port, the visitors can see Nikos Kavadias’ bust gazing to the endless sea. Kavadias was a poet who loved and wrote about the sea during his whole life.
  From the few works of the island’s British period which the earthquakes didn’t destroy is Koutavos bridge, built in 1813, which connects Argostoli with the opposite coast.
  Walking along Lithostroto (stone-paved street), the town’s central street, take a minute to visit Aghios Spiridonas’ church and Kambana square.
  Reaching the street at the port, you will see the market full of fresh fish and sweet-smelling fruit and vegetables. Further down many pastry shops and restaurants invite you to taste the local dishes.
  The people are hospitable, warm-hearted, easy-going and will not fail to help you and make your stay a memorable experience.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Assos Community

ASSOS (Village) KEFALLONIA
  One of the most picturesque places of the island. Is a very popular destination with many visitors during the summer. The village was built amphitheatrically round Assos creck and has a beautiful beach. Walking around its narrow streets one can see beautiful houses with flowerfull gardens and one gets the impression of what Kefalonia was like many years ago.
  There are restaurants, cafes and other shops most them gathered round the main square with it's beautiful plane and oleander trees!
  The real jewel of Asos is it's castle from where one can admire the panoramic view.

Athani Community

ATHANI (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 33146
A picturesque mountain village looking down on the seashore of Gialos. Following the route south along the rocky southern coast through rugged but extremely beautiful countryside one can get to the marvellous beaches of Engremni and Porto Katsiki. At the termination of the route we arrive at the southernmost point of the island, the Lefkata Promontory. It is near here that the ruins were discovered of an ancient temple of Apollo Lefkata. According to the ancient poet Menander, the poetess Sappho of Lesbos fell from here onto the rocks when Phaedon didn't return the love she had for him. In front of us is the Ionian Sea. The sunset from here is a sight worth seeing.

Avliotes Community

AVLIOTES (Small town) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 95445

Benitses Community

BENITSES (Small town) CORFU
Tel: +30 26610 72284
The coastal region of Benitses, very developed as a tourist area, with hotels, tavernas, restaurants and nightclubs. Dense vegetation and beautiful beaches are typical of the area. It is said that the gardens of King Alkinoos were situated here. The springs providing waters to the Corfu Aqueduct are in the area, as are ruins of Roman baths with mosaic floors.

CORFU (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Lovely Corfu, green and sun-drenched with its indented shores, a mythical, fascinating island, first appeared on the scene at the dawn of time when she gave refuge to Jason and the Argonauts on their return form their quest for the Golden Fleece.
  The description of "the island of the Phaeacians" in the Odyssey, Odysseus’ last stop before arriving in his beloved Ithaca, is among the most beautiful verses in world literature.
  The incomparable beauty of the island, which appears from time to time under other names, attracted a host of would-be conquerors. It also inspired artists of every kind, who praised its charms in words and music or rendered them in paintings, sculptures or engravings, spreading its renown to a wide public over the past few centuries.
  Literary figures such as Goethe, Oscar Wilde, Gerald and Lawrence Durrell, the painters Alfred Sisley ad Edward Lear, immortalized with their pen of palette Corfu's inimitable enchantment.
  Even the great Napoleon was not unmoved by its beauty.
  It was here that the sensitive empress Elisabeth of Austria erected the Achilleion, the palace she viewed as the solace of her soul, while according to Lawrence Durrell, Prospero’s island in The Tempest is modeled on Shakespeare’s notion of Corfu.
  Corfu was the birthplace of Greece’s first governor, Ioannis Kapodistrias, of the composer Nikolaos Mantzaros (who set to music Solomos’s "Hymn to Liberty", the country’s national anthem), of the writers Polylas, Markoras, Mavilis, and Constantine Theotokis, as well as being a source of inspiration to Greece’s national poet, Dionysios Solomos. Today it continues to attract and delight its countless visitors.
(text: L. Briola)
This text (extract) is cited November 2003 from the Greek National Tourism Organization tourist pamphlet (1993).

Kerkyra Community

CORFU (Town) IONIAN ISLANDS

Corfu, one of the most beguiling cities in the Mediterranean, lies in the middle of the east coast of the island. It has grown up along a narrow strip of land that juts out into the sea. Its unique beauty is the product of the curious mixture of architectural styles left behind by the various occupying civilizations, blended into an especially harmonious whole.

The old city is the largest "living" medieval town preserved in Greece. Its streets wind and wader with no discernible order or object, its picturesque cobble-stone alleyways are interrupted by statues, graceful churches, Venetian tenements and fountains; the only way to see them is on foot.

The new section of the town is inseparable from the old, so that broad avenues with large piazzas can be found cheek by jowl with the cobbled lanes. Corfu's main square is the Spianada or Esplanade, rightly judged the most beautiful in Greece. Hotels combining the latest amenities with respect for their surroundings lie at various points round town. Some of the city's houses - two-storeys and higher - are in the English Georgian style, others display a strong French influence, while others are Italianate or in the island tradition. Arcades and arches decorate them, as do balconies with artfully designed wrought-iron railings.

Originally, Corfu was a fortress-state whose inhabitants lived within the walls of the Old (Sea) Fort built on the foundations of an earlier Byzantine castle that the Venetians reinforced and expanded in 1546. It is separated from the rest of the town by a moat, the Contrafossa, which used to be spanned by a moveable wooden bridge. The New (Land) Fort above the old harbour was erected between 1576 and 1588 to protect the town in the event of a Turkish invasion. The coast road with its graceful lampposts follows the medieval sea walls, the Mourayia. Its natural borders, the emerald sea on one side and lush greenery on the other, make it exceptionally lovely.

(text: L. Briola)

DASSIA (Settlement) CORFU
Dassia is a developed tourist area with big hotels and a variety of options open to the visitor: blue waters and clean beaches, olive groves coming down right to the water's edge. The gothic-style villa of Bibeli numbers among the sites of interest to visitors.

Community of Erikoussa

ERIKOUSSA (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
Tel: +30 26630 71703
Ereikoussa, an islet within the Diapontia island complex, is located northwestern of Corfu. It is a round island with a diameter of some 2 kilometers and is covered with olive and cypress trees. The permanent residents mainly specialize in olive-oil production, fisheries and tourism.

The highest peak of the island is Merovigli with a 120-meter altitude. Visitors are advised to ascend to the Anemomylos (windmill) site as it features a breathtaking view. On the south coast of the island, where the settlement of Porto is located, there is a huge shallow sandy beach that attracts many visitors from Corfu. From there, a path towards the north of the island, through the lush greenery, leads to the beach Prangini. Popular beaches include Brakini that has shallow waters and is located on the east coast, and the old harbor Fyki, located on the west coast.

It is said that the island was named Ereikoussa due to the vast quantity of briar plants (reiki in Greek) on the island. The briar plant has a purple pink color, a characteristic smell and it blooms in October.

ERISSOS (Municipality) KEFALLONIA
  The municipality of Erissos covers the north part of the island of Kefalonia and is known for its exceptional beauty. The road network which connects all the villages, passes through beautiful scenery and meets the main road arteries of the island. Driving through precipitous roads one can enjoy the view of picturesque landscapes, creeks and dramatic clifs. During your trip you have the opportunity to visit the famous village of Asos, the old capital and important port of the island, in 1593, with the Venician Castle of 16th century on top of the hill and the prisons where prisoners had to work as field hand workers up to 1953.
  About 2 kms past Asos on the way to Fiscardo, one can visit the 1600 built monastery of Theotocou (Gods mother) where every 8th of September there is a celebration. The house hold icon of Godmother is named (Wider than the skies) "Platirera ton ouranon".
  On the way you also have the opportunity to wander beautiful little villages where in a lot of them that survived the 1953 earthquake, you can distinguish the Italian influenced architecture.
  Fiscardo is an old fishing village in which all the houses survived the 1953 earthquake. Today it is one of the most popular and touristy-holiday places in Greece, well known for its traditional architecture and breathtaking picturesque beauty, as well as its cosmopolitan little natural port.   Fiscardo is the home town of the sea poet Nikos Kavadias and it took it's name from the crusader Robert Guiscard. Fiscardo is surrounded by beautiful little villages, glistening creeks and other places such as Foki & Evreti with the wonderful cypress forests. The eastern villages of the municipality are situated opposite the island of Ithaca, through time, witnessing the world evolution and looking towards the future.

This text is cited June 2003 from the Municipality of Erissos URL below, which contains images.


ERMONES (Settlement) CORFU
A seashore with steep rocks and icy-cold waters. This is said to be the place where Nausicaa came with her friends to wash their clothes in the running waters of the spring and so met Odysseus. The "Corfu Golf" is in this area. There are still some traces of Neolithic remains to be seen in the vicinity.

Exo Chora Community

EXO CHORA (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
Tel: +30 26950 31215, 44899

Exogi Community

EXOGI (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 51100

Fiskardo Community

FISKARDO (Village) KEFALLONIA
  Fiscardo is situated in the most northern point of the island opposite the island of Ithaka and is famous for its traditional architecture and its cosmopolitan port.
  It is one of the most important tourist and holiday destinations of the island with soundly organised tourist background.
  Many yachts arrive at Fiscardo's port where their owners most of the times decide to stay for the rest of their holiday.
  Something similar happened to crusader Robert Guiscard from whom Fiscardo took its name, who arrived in 1085 in order to conquer the island, but finally stayed and lived in Fiscardo for the rest of his life. Most of the mansions (stately houses) one can see in Fiscardo belong to the Venetian architecture era.

Gastouri Community

GASTOURI (Village) CORFU
The village of Gastouri is set amid beautiful scenery on a green hillside. Dominating the hilltop is the Achillio, built for the Empress Elizabeth of Austria, the renowned Sissy, in 1890-91 by the Italian architect Kapita. The Empress had a soft spot for the Homeric hero Achilles, and so named her palace after him. The neoclassical building is set amid magnificent gardens. The back part of the garden is dominated by the statue of "Achilles Dying", a creation of the German sculptor Herter. Some of Sissy's personal possessions are kept on the lower floor of the palace. After her murder the Achillion was purchased by Kaiser Wilhelm II of Germany.

ITHAKI (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Northwest of Cephalonia is situated the historic island of Ithaki, Ulysses’ homeland. The island is believed to have been named after the mythical hero Ithakos.
  It is a long, narrow island and its two peninsulas are linked together with Aetos’ isthmus.
  Vathi is the island’s capital. Lefki, Kioni, Frikes, Anogi, Exogi, Perahori and Stavros are Ithaki’s main villages.
  As it happens in the whole Eptanissa complex, Ithaki combines perfectly the beauty of the all-green mountains with the crystal clear blue sea.
  Its beaches enchant the visitor and the trees reaching the beach create a scenery of unique beauty, combining wildness with tranquility.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

ITHAKI (Small town) IONIAN ISLANDS
The capital of the island is situated inside a sheltered cove of Molos Bay which seems like a lake. The houses, which were rebuilt after the earthquakes of 1953, are as before in the traditional architectural style. The blue waters and the verdant islet of Lazaretto in the middle of the harbour make a good first impression on the visitor.

KALAMOS (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Kalamos is not a conventional island. It is a tall mountain range which floats on the sea, its northern side overgrowing with towering, thick pine trees. It is obvious to even the non-specialist visitor that these pines are of a special species.
  They perch everywhere, even at the most precipitous points, sprouting from the rocks and reaching as far as the edge of the sea, as though they insisted on demonstrating their superiority over the place.
  Even at the first sight from a distance, then, Kalamos captivates with its unusual, wild landscape. Kalamos has a surface area of around 20 square kilometres and a highest mountain peak of 200 metres.
  There are around 580 permanent residents, increasing in the summer when friends and relatives visit the island.
  The centre of the island is the port of Kalamos, which is on the eastern side. This is where many people sailing the Ionian moor their boats in order to visit the island, enjoy some seafood at a seaside taverna or seek refuge from bad weather.
  Work being carried out for the widening the port will increase the number of boats that can be moored here and ease sea transport, which is the island's only means of communication with the rest of the world. A caique makes four to five connections to and from Mytika daily in the summer, bringing passengers and all types of goods to cover the needs of the island's few residents. The island has a simple, rural atmosphere.
  The houses of Kalamos, clambering high above the port, are stone-built, most with tiled roofs, built tightly-packed next to each other and intersected by narrow, winding lanes.
  The road which connects the port with the village rises quite steeply and has many bends. The few cars, used mainly for transporting goods, drive carefully along the narrow roads. A new road starting at Kalamos ascends high into the mountains and passes through an amazing pine forest, terminating at the island's other small village, Episkopi.
  Here the few houses, worn by time, are used as summer residences, drawing their owners to Episkopi each year. It is as though time stopped 50 years ago. The residents' boats, a vital means of transportation and communication with the rest of the world, are kept at the small, new port. Episkopi is only ten minutes from the port to Mytika on the mainland coast of Aitoloakarnania...
  On the other side of the island is Porto Leone, a charming, little bay so named by the Venetians who first drew up the maps of the area.   Nearby is an old bridge built many centuries ago. The pine forest is very rare and the only other forests of this type are found on the Sporades islands in the Aegean Sea. It is a thickly-grown verdant forest, powerful and vibrant and home to many species of birds. The road from Kalamos to Episkopi also leads down to the little beach of Ayios Konstantinos. Here, right in front of the waves, there is a small and pretty private church dedicated to Ayios Donatos, a saint encountered mainly in the Ionian Islands. Built in stone with a ceramic tile roof, it stands alone with only the thick foliage to keep it company; soon it will be in need of care, however, in order to protect it for the future.
  Ayios Ioannis, which is one of the oldest churches on the island, is almost completely ruined. A plaque still remains with an inscription (1648) of the date when the church was most likely built. Other churches are the church of Ayios Minas, the church of Episkopi, and Ayios Georgios in the cemetery.
  The island has long been farmed. Its mountain is lower in the centre and towards the south and is much easier to farm at this point. In the past there was also vine cultivation, but all that remains of this today are the walls that were used to hold the earth in. There are many olive trees and three windmills at Agriapidia, where the whole harvest would be gathered. Kalamos has small, mainly pebbly, beaches with brilliantly clean waters, access to which is mainly from the sea.
  Near the port are the beaches of Myrtia and Asproyiali, whilst further south are Agriapidia, Pefkoi and Kefali with Kedros, Alexaki, Kipoi and Trachilos to the west. The island also has some interesting caves.
  The road that goes from Kalamos to Episkopi has not had much of an effect on the landscape and is ideal for all those who delight in rambling through a beautiful natural environment. The island has only a few cultural monuments. It does, however, have a remarkable natural landscape and an atmosphere which transports the visitor to eras long gone. ve a remarkable natural landscape and an atmosphere which transports the visitor to eras long gone.

This text is cited April 2004 from the Prefecture of Lefkada URL below, which contains images


Karoussades Community

KAROUSSADES (Small town) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 31311

Karya Community

KARYA (Small town) LEFKADA
A mountain village of Lefkas, with a tradition in embroidery, some of which is on display at the Folk Art Museum. If you visit the village on 11th August you can see a representation of the Lefkadian wedding. At the old monastery of St. George at Skari you can see remarkable 17th century frescoes. You can get to it by following the road to Nikiana.

KASSIOPI (Village) CORFU
A town built on the site of an ancient settlement. Kassiopi flourished during the Roman period, chiefly on account of its geographic position overlooking the sea pass. In ancient times there was a sanctuary to Zeus here, on the site now occupied by the 16th century Panagia Kassiopitissa. The ruins of the town's castle, dating from the 14th century, can be seen on the hill. A number of narrow streets lead from the harbour to the town's beaches. Kassiopi is an ideal point of departure for visitors wishing to explore all the northern part of Corfu.

This text is cited December 2004 from the Ionian Islands Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image


KASTOS (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Kastos is a low-lying, long and narrow little island covered in olive trees and at which dozens of boats sailing over the Ionian Sea moor safely each day. It is also an excellent place for fishing. It has only fifty permanent residents, which rises to 500 in the summer when friends and relatives gather here.
  Kastos has a greatest width of 900 metres and a surface area of six square kilometres. It has many low hills, the tallest of which is no higher than 150 metres. The island's west coast is rugged, whilst the east coast has many small beaches, which can be accessed from land or the sea. These are Ambelakia and Fyki in the south, Vali, Koilada, Ayios Aimilianos, Limni, Kamini and Vrisidi...
  There are only a few roads on the island, and it is for this reason that there are no cars. The distances are very short and the people move around on foot and, of course, by boat. Every resident of the island has his own boat or small speedboat. The Saracene bay, the natural bay on the west of the island, also has a small mole which makes anchorage possible even during bad weather, so that the island will not be cut off by the strong southerly winds...
  At Kalikerimi there is an olive grove with very old olive trees. They are tall with thick trunks and giant roots which indicate that they must be several hundred years old. At Ayios Aimilianos, a little to the north of the port of Kastos, there is a small cave, Fokotrypa (Seal Hole). It is around 30 metres deep with a little sand within it. From its name we can conclude that in the past seals would seek refuge here. The island's pathways provide for pleasurable walks and are generally quite accessible and straight.
  The view from the pathway along the ridge which goes towards the north is exceptional. In addition, the small road which was recently built provides for a delightful stroll through the verdant landscape, which exudes a sense of peace and calm. The ancient remains at Vigla are evidence for the possible relationship of the island with Meganisi and Kalamos from ancient times (the Tafios islands).
  Kastos is linked by caique with mainland Greece. There are a few connections each day to and from the coast of Mytikas on the other side of the island, which is also Kastos' central marketplace. The caique is the island's only connection to the outside world. The island has fanatical supporters who come here each summer to pass a few carefree and peaceful days in an atmosphere that is different and in an environment that is still clean and unpolluted, as though it were located on the edge of the world.

This extract is cited April 2004 from the Prefecture of Lefkada URL below, which contains images


KASTOS (Village) IONIAN ISLANDS
The village of Kastos is built around the harbour in an amphitheatre pattern. The houses, most of which are boarded up, are very spread out on large plots of land and surrounded by olive trees, giving a feel of comfort and openness. They are all two-storey, made of stone and with red-tiled roofs and wooden window-shutters painted in different colours. Many of these houses have large balconies with large doors leading onto them. This picture exudes the comfort of earlier days, and a visitor who comments that it is reminiscent of Greece in the 1960s would be quite justified. The village has a few restaurants which specialise in seafood, serving the fresh fish trawled up by the island's fishermen. A proper water supply system was recently installed on Kastos, thus easing the lives of the residents.

This extract is cited April 2004 from the Prefecture of Lefkada URL below, which contains images


Katastari Community

KATASTARI (Small town) ZAKYNTHOS
The largest village on Zakynthos, renowned for the hospitality of its inhabitants. There is one peculiarity that lends a note of difference to Katastari: the village is abruptly interrupted by a little used road and after it comes the rest of the village built in the shape of an amphitheatre overlooking the bay of Alykes. The light breeze which often blows in the area makes the hottest summer days cool and pleasant. The visitor must take a look at the church of Agioi Theodori, in which after the 1953 earthquakes the inhabitants gathered together what remained from the demolished churches of the area.

Katochori Community

KATOCHORI (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 95238

Kavalouri Community

KAVALOURI (Village) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 31179

KEFALLONIA (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Cephalonia is the largest and most mountainous island in Eptanissa. It is situated to the south of Lefkada, west of Ithaki and north of Zakynthos.
  It is an all-green island, which offers variety and sharp contrasts in scenery. Argostoli is the island’s capital and also gives its name to the nearby bay. Opposite Argostoli, in Palliki peninsula, is situated Lixouri, the second most important town of the island.
  Cephalonia’s coasts form either small bays or gulfs with magnificent, wind-protected beaches, ideal for swimming and sunbathing or steep cliffs where the wild rocks meet the deep blue Ionian Sea.
  Cephalonia’s flora is renowned for the unique variety of black fir called the "cephalonian fir" which can only be found without hybrids on the highest mountain of the island, Mount Enos.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Keri Community

KERI (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
Tel: +30 26950 43701, 43324
Keri is a very attractive village. It is well-known for the legend surrounding its church, the Panagia of Keri. It is said that once upon a time the Panagia concealed Zakynthos in dense fog to protect it from pirate raids. It is worth going to the lighthouse on the promontory to see the two Mizithres: two big stones towering over the deep blue waters.

Kioni Community

KIONI (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 31766

KOULOURA (Settlement) CORFU
A little fishing port, which takes its name from the shape of its cove. The ruins of a building from the Venetian period can be seen here, formerly a residence belonging to the first governor of Modern Greece Ioannis Capodistrias.

KOURKOUMELATA (Village) KEFALLONIA
A modern village rebuilt after the 1953 earthquakes in the traditional style with donations from the family of the shipowner Vergoti. The village's Cultural Centre is housed in a neoclassical building. There is a marvellous view from Kourkoumelata over the Ionian Sea.

Lakka Community

LAKKA (Village) PAXI
The village of Lakka took its name from its position. Its houses are built at a low elevation and close to the sea. The view from the lighthouse is superb. It is worth visiting the Ellinospito, a kind of fort, where the locals sought refuge when pirates came to the island. Similarly of interest is the Ipapandis Church, built in 1774. Renaissance elements can be seen in its ornamentation. One could also visit the Sea Cave of Ipapandis, which is said to communicate with the church and with the Grammatikos Mansion.

LAKONES (Village) CORFU
A typical Corfiot village on a green hillside. It is worth taking a walk to Bella Vista, where the visitor can lounge in one of the charming coffee shops and admire the view over the bay of Palaiokastritsa. If you like rambling outdoors you can follow the steep path which will take you to Palaiokastritsa village.

LEFKADA (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Lefkada is one of the Ionian Islands, known as the 'Eptanisia' in Greek, which lie in the Ionian Sea. The island is less than 100 metres from the mainland coast of Akarnania, to which it is linked by a floating bridge. The channel of Lefkada is 50 metres wide. Lefkada has an area of 302.5 square kilometres and is the fourth largest of the Ionian Islands with a population of 23,000. The Prefecture of Lefkada consists of Lefkada and the surrounding small islands of Meganisi, Kalamos, Kastos, Skorpios, Skorpidi, Madouri, Sparti, Thileia and Kythros. The Prefecture is divided into six municipalities and two communities. Lefkada has a Mediterranean climate. It has many hours of sunlight daily and is typified by mild winters with increased rainfall and hot summers with cool breezes. 70% of the island's terrain is mountainous. It has tall mountains, the tallest peak being in the centre at Stavrota (1182 m.). The western side of Lefkada is precipitous with many long, sandy beaches.
  It also has narrow plateaus, fertile valleys and ravines with rich vegetation. Olive trees are spread over the whole island whilst cypress trees grow here and there, creating a distinct landscape. The island's exceptional flora includes many pine forests and some forests with a special variety of oak tree. Another variety of tall and thick pine tree which grows on the edge of the sea is to be found on the island of Kalamos. Lefkada has plenty of waters, mainly springs but also streams which flow from high above, creating small waterfalls. In the north of the island is a lagoon which provides an important wetland environment for many species of birds.
  The landscape is complimented by the traces of human habitation, old and new. Agricultural buildings, such as the dozens of watermills, the olive presses, threshing floors, the simple stone-built houses and the unique domed stone dens are evidence of the importance of farming on the island. The salt-pans and fish farms indicate another side of life on Lefkada. The churches and the monasteries provided support to the Greek and Christian culture of the island during the difficult years of the Tourkokratia (Turkish rule), roviding an artistic escape through the Byzantine tradition and western influences. The icons and wall-paintings are unique works of art. The town of Lefkada itself, with its historic centre, town houses and narrow lanes and the Kastro of Ayia Mavra (Santa Maura) - these are the unique features which go to make up the cultural heritage of the island. They tie together the precious memories of the past and lead us to the Lefkada of today.

This text is cited April 2004 from the Prefecture of Lefkada URL below, which contains images


Lefkada Community

LEFKADA (Town) IONIAN ISLANDS
  The town of Lefkada, whose history goes far back into the mists of time, is associated with Sappho and Phaon, Apollo and Artemis, the Trojan War, Odysseus and the Homeric Ithaca, with East and West, with her destiny. The town, which has been the vital heart of the island since medieval times, is today a friendly, modern city. A number of significant figures in arts and letters originated here, including the poets Aristotelis Valaoritis, Angelos Sikelianos and Lefkadios Hern, historian Nikos Svoronos and others. The town has been characterized by the Ministry of Culture as a "region of particular natural beauty", and by the late art historian Angelos Prokopiou as a "geological phenomenon". It features crystal clear waters, a coastline lacey with coves and inlets, the beaches at Aghios Ioannis and Gyra, and the mills; it is full of sights such as the medieval Venetian fortress and basilica churches with interesting carved wooden icon screens. It has a folklore museum and an archaeological museum and art gallery featuring post-Byzantine icons.
  It has a large number of cultural associations and a historic philharmonic orchestra, and hosts festivities in August, celebrating Literature and Art and the International Folklore Festival, all of which offer unique artistic experiences to local people and visitors alike. It is a town, which offers fresh, inexpensive fish in traditional tavernas, Ionian serenatas, and the hospitable spirit and warmth of its people. It’s a town with nightlife, full of movement, passions and dreams, a town in which the visitor can come and go 24 hours a day thanks to the causeway connecting it to the mainland. It is also a base from which one can visit the mountainous areas of the island, and travel to the nearby island of Meganissi, Cephalonia and Ithaki, taking advantage of the frequent and regular boat services and the good roads.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Lithakia Community

LITHAKIA (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
Tel: +30 26950 51270

LIVATHOU (Municipality) KEFALLONIA
  Livatho area spreads along the southern part of the island. Here, the visitor can enjoy swimming in one of the picturesque beaches such as Lourdas and Avithos. Once in the area, do not forget to visit Metaxata village to see the house where Lord Byron lived for a while, in 1824, before going to Messolonghi.
  Touring around Livatho, it’s worth visiting Ntomata and Kalligata, two villages whose churches are decorated with magnificent wooden carved icon screens.
  The sights of the area also include Ag. Andreas’ Monastery and Ag. Georgios’ Castle.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Lixouri Community

LIXOURI (Small town) KEFALLONIA
  Lixouri is the second largest town with a population of 3500 people, according to the most recent census.
  It is situated in Palliki peninsula and there is regular ferry boat transport from Argostoli. The visitor can also reach Lixouri driving around the big bay of Livadi.
  Lixouri is divided in two parts by a stream and small bridges connect the two banks. It is a modern town with big streets full of trees and spacious squares.
  At the town’s port, you can see Andreas Laskaratos’ statue. Laskaratos was a satiric poet who came from Lixouri and lived in the 19th century.
  Furthermore, liberal politicians’ busts, such as Typaldos-Iakovatos, Pylarinos and Typaldos Kapeletos-Dotoratos can be seen around the town.
  Distinguished benefactors like P. Vallianos, S. Petritsis, the Basias brothers and others helped to reconstruct the town after the terrible earthquakes in 1953.
  The inhabitants of Lixouri, as all Cephalonians, are famous for their love and talents in music, literature and art in general. In this frame we should not fail to mention Pali’s Music School which was founded in 1836 and it is one of the oldest and most important in Greece.
  Lixouri is very famous for the rich cultural events.
  Its Carnival is renowned for its sense of humour and satire and it is the prevailing happening in winter.
  The whole island participates in it and apart from its variety and its humorous sense it also possesses a Dionysiac aspect.
  It is regarded as one of the most successful provincial carnivals.
  During the summer season, the Cultural Centre of Lixouri Municipality in collaboration with other Municipalities and authorities organises various cultural events.
  Lixouri’s sights also include Laskaratos’ hill, Iakovatos Library, the Archaeological Collection and numerous magnificent churches with wooden carved icon screens.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Longos Community

LONGOS (Village) PAXI
Longos nestles amidst dense vegetation, which reaches as far as the harbour. The shallowness of the water makes it impossible for larger vessels to dock. The beaches of Levrechio, Marmari, Kipo and Kipiadi are suitable for swimming, windsurfing, and also camping. If the visitor is looking for unspoilt beaches, Fikia and Glyfada are worth visiting. Also of interest is the oil-press of the Anemogiannis family, one of the oldest families of Paxi. The churches of Agios Nikolaos, patron of sailors, and Zoodochou Pigi, have some frescoes of interest to a visitor.

Lourdata Community

LOURDATA (Village) KEFALLONIA
Tel: +30 26710 31425
The village of Lourdata is situated in a verdant, fertile region. The waters of Enos and the protection afforded by the mountain greatly heighten the fertility of the village gardens and orchards, which go right down to the sea. The Cephalonians relish the fruit and vegetables from the gardens of Lourdata, which are very tasty. The village's fine beach, which is also large, every year attracts crowds of holidaymakers, Greek and non-Greek.

Katouni Community

LYGIA (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 71394
  At a distance of 5 kilometres from the town of Lefkada we reach the first coastal village, the very beautiful Lygia. Its picturesque port with the fishing boats, the wonderful clean beaches and the azure waters charm and fascinate the visitor. In Lygia there are hotels and rooms for rent, fish tavernas and restaurants, supermarkets and every kind of shop. It is a village pulsing with life and a vibrant tourist industry, with good-hearted, king and hospitable inhabitants. Lygia is suitable for your holidays and your stay here wil be unforgettable. Three kilometres from Lygia is Katouna, a traditional settlement with old houses and a wonderful little square at its heart. Around the square are small tavernas which serve excellent food. It is also worth paying a visit to the church of Panagia with its beautiful bell-tower, and that of Agios Varvaros with its glorious iconostasis and excellent icons. A walk through the cobbled streets of the village is sure to enthrall you.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Macherado Community

MACHERADO (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
The second largest downland village after Katastari. It is a fertile place where some grapes are grown, but not on the large scale of the past. The growers harvest their production at different times throughout the year. At Macherado the visitor can see the restored 14th century Church of the Ipapanti, whose campanile is the highest in Zakynthos. The main attraction of Macherado is the Church of Agia Mavra. This is a single-aisle basilica with exceptionally rich interior decoration, an imposing wood-carved screen with a golden veneer and naturally the icon of Agia Mavra, weighed down with the votive offerings of the faithful. The melodious bells of the Agia Mavra church can be heard throughout most of the island of Zakynthos.

Magoulades Community

MAGOULADES (Small town) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 51294

MARATHIAS (Beach) ZAKYNTHOS
Here the visitor can enjoy the pebbly beach with its deep blue waters. On the promontory of Marathias one can see the Kamares: two huge rocks that tower over the crystalline waters of a bay with pure white sandy beaches.

Maries Community

MARIES (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
Tel: +30 26950 48482, 28055

Markopoulo Community

MARKOPOULO (Village) KEFALLONIA
Tel: +30 26710 81358
A village built on a rise with a superb panoramic view. Each year around mid-August in Markopoulo the snakes of the Panagia make their appearance. These are small harmless snakes which have the sign of the cross on their heads. On the day of the festival of the Panagia the snakes go into the church and up onto the silver icon of the Virgin. Is it a miracle or a way station for the snakes as they make their way to some place warmer? According to contemporary reports, in 1953, the year of the big earthquakes, the snakes did not make their appearance. It is characteristic that the snakes of the Panagia disappear on 15th August after the liturgy or after the church festival.

Neochori Community

MEGALO AVLAKI (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 92451
Fax: +30 26450 92451
  The community of Neochori consists of the settlements of Megalo Avlaki, Paliokatouna and Neochori. Connections to the town and the rest of Lefkada are made by regular bus routes and taxis. The verdant landscapes of olive groves and the various forms of the mountains, invite the wanderer to enjoy the wonderful harmonious balance of nature by, for example, taking simple walks or cycling.
  Recently-built hotels with many comforts (swimming pool) and very good prices, as well as rooms for rent with modern facilities (individual bathroom), are on offer to our guests. From Neochori, one can enjoy the remarkable vista of the small cluster of islets spread out before you. Between them there is also Madouri, the island of the great poet Aristotelis Valaoritis, which belongs to our community. Many tourist agencies offer daily excursions to all beaches of the island, as well as renting cars and motor bikes, making it possible to visit and enjoy the beauties of the whole island.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Meganisi, A relaxing rhythm

MEGANISSI (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Meganisi is a small island covered in vegetation lying to the east of Lefkada with an area of almost 20 square kilometres and a permanent population of 1,200. It lies at a distance of four nautical miles from Nydri, with which there is a daily ferry-boat connection. It has three villages, Vathy, Katomeri and Spartochori, and three quaint ports, Spilia at Spartochori, Atherino at Katomeri and Vathy. The island's capital is the village of Katomeri, which is located high above Vathy and is also the seat of the Municipality of Meganisi.
  In ancient times Meganisi was probably known as the island of the Tafiots. This name appears for the first time in Homer, probably taken from the myth of Tafios, son of Poseidon and King of the region. Homer mentions that, when he left for Troy, Odysseus entrusted King Mentor of the Tafiots with his ships.
  Other people believe that Meganisi was the island of Asteria, which is also mentioned by Homer. On Meganisi there are still several bays in which ships sailing over the Ionian Sea can find shelter. These include Ambelaki, Balos, Platiyiali, Svourna, Kolopoulos, Dichali, Limonari, Elia, Limni, whilst there are also caves in the south-east of the island. The most noted of these is the so-called Cave of Papanikolis. This is a cave situated in the sea on the island's south-west coast; it is around 30 metres deep and has sand in its interior. Tradition has it that this was one of the hiding places for Papanikolis' submarine, so that the enemy would not spot it.
  It is also said that during the period of Turkish rule a priest (papas) and his students sought refuge here in order to save themselves from the pirates. Other interesting caves are the Giovani cave, a little further above the Cave of Papanikolis, and the Daimonas cave. These beautiful caves can only be reached via the sea. Every day, small caiques come here and to the island's surrounding sandy beaches, giving the visitor to Meganisi the opportunity to view this exceptional scene, with the sheer, hanging cliffs. The villages consist of small farmers' houses, many of which are stone-built.
  The pretty little streets, tiny like 'kantounia' or alleyways, evoke other eras and the few cars which exist on the island, as well as the small bus which serves all the island's residents and visitors, are careful when moving around. Spartochori is built above the port of Spilia on high cliffs with an exceptional view. The area is a luscious green. Pine trees reach out until as far as the edge of the sea and provide the perfect shade for walking. The ascent up the footpath from the port to the village high above is made easier with the help of some small steps. Somewhere in the middle of this walk there is a small opening onto the Cave of the Cyclops, which is still unexplored.
  Many locals believe that this cave is very large and it is quite likely that the area took its name from the cave, as 'spilia' means cave in Greek. Katomeri is three kilometres further down.
  The small and spartan, clean little houses also provide the stamp of the rural life of the village's inhabitants. Those who have stayed are farmers and fishermen, whilst those who left were expert boatmen and sea captains. Olives and vines are the main cultivations here as well. Large olive groves, such as the Misoi olive grove, with giant olive trees which grow on the plateaus and on slopes fixed with dry stone walls so that they will hold well in the earth, everywhere fill the landscape. The area thus once had many olive-presses, both privately and cooperatively owned, only a few of which survive today. There is, however, one machine which still operates normally. This is the Zavitsanos olive-presses in the village of Spartochori. The Municipality of Meganisi has recently undertaken to restore the horse-drawn olive-press of Panoutsos at Vathy and to turn it into an industrial museum.
  Many abandoned windmills are scattered around on the high peaks over which the winds blow; these were at their most glorious in an earlier period, in the 19th and 20th centuries. Most of these are on raised areas above the port of Atherinos. They are situated at points where they will be found by the south, west and east winds. These mills were all privately owned and usually took the nicknames of their owners, such as the mills of Bakolas, Patsis or of Hymos. One of these, Paliomylas (Old Mill) still stands proudly, solidly built in stone, even though its roof is missing. There are many, around forty, threshing floors here still, located high up, made of stone and remnants of the old farming life. They were worked non-stop, so as to separate the wheat from the other produce. One of these is the Konidaris threshing floor. The island's little water was drawn from wells which were opened at various points on the island. Today only a few wells are still in operation, although they stand out for their artistic quality.
  Most of them are built in stone and have very low circular walls with small openings above. The well of Ferentinos at Spilia as well as Rementanis' well-known one are typical. The island has many valuable Christian monuments. The small monastery of Ayios Ioannis Prodromos (St John the Baptist) is built on the pebbly beach on the west of the island. It may no longer have any fine wall-paintings or architecture to show, but it does have a great history. Without having been fully confirmed, tradition has it that the monastery was founded before 1477. It is said that it was destroyed by pirates who then threw the Saint's icon into the sea, from where a fisherman dragged it up in his nets. In 1800, the monk Ioannis Patrikis, who was from a rich family and much loved on Ithaki and also on Meganisi, which he visited often, sent a nun over to rebuild the monastery.
  The nun made constant appeals for money, along with her assistant the Meganisian Vasilis Politis. It is said that for this purpose they even reached as far as the Tsar of Russia. The monastery was finally rebuilt and the nun remained there until her death. Her grave lies between the foundations of the old and new walls of the sanctuary. It is believed that the church of the cemetery of the Ayioi (Saints) Constantine and Eleni, which belongs to the parish of Vathy, was built in 1620 and the style of the wall-paintings generally fits in with this date. It is a single-aisled wooden-sculpted church with a built iconostasis.
  Sections of a wall-painting representing a horse-backed saint, Ayios Georgios, were recently found under a thick layer of plaster. There is evidence that monks lived here before the church was built. In 1790 the shipowner Malamas restored the temple and donated the land to the cemetery. The new windows which were opened during the restoration destroyed a part of the wall-painting of Ayios Georgios. The church of Ayios Nikolaos is also ttached to a cemetery and was recently restored. It is located in the area of the plain, a little outside of Bosoi, and dates to the early 19th century.
  Meganisi is an island full of unadulterated natural beauty, it is hospitable and peaceful, without many cars and noisy activities.It is ideal for walking along the many footpaths which cover the island and the narrow roads which have little traffic. And it is especially ideal for all those who seek simplicity and authenticity. The Meganisians, who love their island, are respectful towards the environment and take good care of it, preserving its features unadulterated. activities.It is ideal for walking along the many footpaths which cover the island and the narrow roads which have little traffic. And it is especially ideal for all those who seek simplicity and uthenticity. The Meganisians, who love their island, are respectful towards the environment and take good care of it, preserving its features unadulterated.

This text is cited April 2004 from the Prefecture of Lefkada URL below, which contains images


Monastery of St. Gerassimos at Omala

MONI AGIOU GERASSIMOU (Monastery) KEFALLONIA
Tel: +30 26710 86385
  Aghios Gerassimos’ monastery dates back to the 16th century.
  The Saint, patron of the island, lived and taught here from 1560 until his death in 1579, leaving behind magnificent samples of his ascetic life.
  His relics are kept in the monastery’s church and his memory is honoured on 16th August and on 20th October.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Monastery of the Virgin Kathara

MONI KATHARON (Monastery) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 31247
  Kathara monastery is situated 566 m. above sea level, 6 klm. away from the homonymous village. There are two views concerning the construction of a church and a monastery, both dedicated to Virgin Mary (Panaghia). The first claims that peasants went to the area to burn ''kathara'', i.e. wild grass and thorns, found Virgin Mary's icon and decided to build a church there. The second view related the foundation of the monastery with the Catholic sect of Kathara. Whichever of the two views is true, it is a fact that Virgin Mary's church was built in 1696 and the monastery which was built a few years later was active until the 1980's.
  Nowadays no monks live in the monastery which is open only in summer offering hospitality to the visitors. Virgin Mary's icon is believed to have been painted by Loukas, the Evangelist. The church's wooden carved icon screen is also of superb beauty. Until recently another valuable icon, probably painted by El Greco, was kept in the monastery. The icon is depicting Jesus on the way to Calvary. This icon is today kept in Aghios Georgios' church, in Vounaki. Panaghia Kathariotissa who is the island's patron saint celebrates on 8th and 14th September and on Easter Sunday.

Monastery of Kipouria

MONI KIPOUREON (Monastery) KEFALLONIA
Tel: +30 26710 91354
  The monastery dedicated to Virgin Mary Kipoureon was built in 1759 and is situated in Palliki peninsula.
  The visitor apart from the remarkable relics will also have the chance to admire the unrivalled view towards the endless blue sea. An unforgettable experience.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Monastery of Strofades

MONI STROFADON (Monastery) STROFADES
Tel: +30 26950 22950

Moraitika Community

MORAITIKA (Village) CORFU
A seaside tourist resort situated at the mouth of the river Mesoggi. The area could well have been inhabited since Neolithic times if one is to judge from the small 3rd century B.C. temple which can be seen high up on the hill. At the river mouth there are ruins of a Hellenoromaic building.

Alexandros Community

NIKIANA (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 71384
Fax: +30 26450 71384
  Between Lygia and Perigiali, 9 km from the capital of the island, is the wonderful picturesque fishing village of Nikiana.
  Built at the foot of the Skaros mountain, it is a combination of verdant green and magical azure, which offers comfort and variety during your holiday as you can find whatever you want here.
  Nikiana is an ideal place for windsurfing, skiing and fishing as well as for climbing, with the ability to offer every visitor whatever they may desire. A little further on is the hermitage of Agioi Pateres (the Holy Fathers) with a panoramic view and also the important mountain settlements of Alexandros and Kolyvata which are worth a visit as is the Skaros mountain where you will find the unique oak wood.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Nydri Community

NYDRI (Village) LEFKADA
  Nydri and the surrounding area of the Municipality of Ellomenos are located on the south-east side of Lefkada. It has many outstanding physical beauties, both on the coasts as well as the hinterland, which leave every visitor in awe. In this region the morphology of the earth varies. It combines the island's largest fertile plain, Englimenos, with the mountain ranges of Platystoma, Vakeris, Neochori, Alatros and Fternos, with the beaches and tourist resorts that are visited by thousands of holiday-makers.
  The large, leeward bay of Vlychos, which extends far into the dry land, constitutes an excellent natural harbour, hospitable to all the boats which sail in the waters of the Ionian Sea. The whole of the Vlychos peninsular is a luscious green which hugs the coast and reaches round as far as the opposite side from Nydri. It is as though the islands of the Prinkiponisa (Prince's Islands), which are small wooded islands, Skorpios, Skorpidi, Madouri, Sparti and, further away, Meganisi float upon the calm sea. And opposite, on the edge of the horizon, the coast of Akarnania on the Greek mainland, frames this unique and exquisite picture, a picture which differs during every hour of the day. A few years ago, Nydri and its surrounding area was nothing more than a small fishing community. Most of the inhabitants lived in small, semi-mountain villages located higher up, at Rachi, Vavkeri and Platystoma, and were involved in agriculture, live-stock rearing and fishing, as were all the villagers of the island. The rapid development of tourism gave the area a great push and won over the majority of the locals. Today, the place is very different from how it was in the past.
  In addition, the development of tourism also changed the demographic distribution. The residents moved from the interior mountain massifs to the coasts, where they became involved in tourism, at the same time continuing their winter agricultural occupations in the villages. The whole of the coastal zone from the village of Periyiali as far as Vlychos has merged into one compact area. There are dozens of luxury hotels and rented rooms, restaurants, shops and tourist offices which offer up-to-date tourism facilities, serving the most demanding visitor.
  The beautiful and immaculately clean sandy beach, which stretches out for kilometres ahead, provides bathers with the opportunity to try out all kinds of water sports.
  Even though the area is quite developed touristically, it has not lost its natural beauty. Thick vegetation with olive trees, pines and cypresses provide a framework for the carefully constructed tourist infrastructure. The orderliness and cleanliness help to maintain exceptionally civilised surroundings. The region's beauties are not just limited to its sandy beaches and to its cosmopolitan character, though it has many important historical, natural as well as cultural monuments to show, both along the coast and inland.
  With Nydri, Lefkada's most visited tourist resort, as a starting point, we commence on our first route a little outside the centre of the village.   The visitor will be able to enjoy the region's beautiful landscape, with the rich olive trees, fertile orchards and vegetable gardens to the west. This route can be made in combination with a delightful walk which passes through the area of the excavations, wedged in between the sea and the mountain, in the area of the Steno Haradiatikon and which leads on to Vlychos. This is where the German archaeologist Wilhelm Dorpfeld discovered some tombs and circular buildings, showing that the region was inhabited from at least the Early Bronze Age (2000 BC).
  Dorpfeld was he inspiration behind the theory, based on one interpretation of the Odyssey, that Lefkada was indeed Homer's Ithaki, and placed Odysseus' palace at Nydri. Many of Dorpfeld's finds - votive offerings, vases and Mycenean remains - are on display in the Archaeological Museum of Lefkada. Dorpfeld himself loved the island so much that he wanted to be buried here. His grave is located on the peak of the hill at the edge of the Vlychos peninsula, above the charming little church of Ayia Kyriaki. There is a theory that this little church is built on top of an ancient temple of the Nymphs.
  Continuing from Vlychos turning to the left, the route continues between two ancient olive trees in the verdant region of Yeni, in front of the beach of Desimi. A small footpath at the end of the road leads to the little church of Ayia Kyriaki, offering another view of Nydri which is as equally amazing. The journey to Ayia Kyriaki can also be made in a small, rented caique. A small, uphill road above the bay of Vlychos leads to the village of Haradiatika and continues from there to the hamlet of Alatros. Just like all the other tiny, mountain villages of the region, Alatros is today abandoned...
  There are many water-mills preserved in the ravine, remnants of the agricultural life of the place and testimony to the existence of strong-flowing waters which the locals used in order to grind their crops. Ascending southwards, after Vlychos we reach Katochori. This is a small, picturesque hamlet with stone-built houses. It was once the seat of the Municipality and the buildings which housed the public services, such as the courts, still stand. In this village is the church of Ayios Haralambos, with icons dating to the 16th century.Further south on this route, on the left of the central road, is Poros, an old village which clambers up a steep slope in a westerly direction, as though it has turned its back to the sea. This village is surrounded by green vegetation and looks as though it lives according to its own peaceful rhythms. Above the village, at a distance of less than 800 metres, are the remains of a tower, from which a lookout was obviously kept over the whole of the surrounding region.
  According to Dorpfeld, this tower, as well as the remains of an ancient olive-press which was found here, date to approximately the 4th century BC. After Poros, the road descends through the village and leads down to two delightful sandy beaches, Rouda and Mikro Yialo, which lie next to each other, impressing the visitor so much that he will not know which one to choose first. And here the water is brilliantly clean and crystal-clear, a deep blue, whilst the green of the vegetation is reflected on its surface.
  Continuing in a southerly direction, the small village of Fterno is to the right of the central road. From here the view over Rouda is magical. This is where the road which leads through the ravine of Haradiatika ends, offering the visitor the especial pleasure of being able to go on yet another exceptional ramble and to discover the region's natural beauties. A second route starts from Nydri and follows a slightly upward road which leads, through a verdant landscape, to the farming hamlet of Rachi. From here, ascending towards the west, we encounter a shadowy footpath which clambers up the slope of the Dimosari ravine.
  This footpath has been hewn through the rock and is secure; it is quite perfect for the summer months. At the end of the footpath there is a series of rocks over which water rushes quite forcefully, creating a waterfall. The water collects in a natural basin. In the summer there is less water, but the ramble through the verdant and refreshing landscape is still exceptionally pleasurable. The Dimosari ravine is considered to be an important wetland. In his poems, the poet Aristotelis Valaoritis has sung the praises of the flowing water, gazing over at the landscape of Madouri.
  A few kilometres above the village of Rachi is Vavkeri, another of the region's picturesque mountain villages, full of greenery and with plenty of water. The history of the village begins in the 16th or the 17th centuries. Today there are only a very few residents left. The view over Nydri from here is truly magical.

Orthonies Community

ORTHONIES (Village) ZAKYNTHOS
Tel: +30 26950 31214

OTHONI (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
A small island which can be reached with the caiques that frequently make the crossing. Sparsely populated, the island is the westernmost point of Greece. It is also possible by boat to reach Aspri Ammos, where the Cave of Calypso is to be seen.

PALEOKASTRITSA (Village) CORFU
The whole Paleokastritsa area has been developed for tourism. There are hotels, rent rooms and summer apartments. The countryside is magnificent. Apart from the main beach there are narrow paths leading to other smaller coves, suitable for bathing. The monastery of the Virgin was founded in 1225, though the building the visitor sees today dates only from the 18th-19th centuries. There is a museum with Byzantine and post-Byzantine icons. Legend has it that the small island of Kolovri at the entrance to the bay is a pirate ship which was turned to stone by the Virgin Mary, in this way protecting the monastery and the local population. Aggelokastro is the westernmost outpost of the Despotate of Epirus, to which Corfu belonged until 1267.

This text is cited December 2004 from the Ionian Islands Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image


PANTOKRATOR (Mountain) CORFU
Mount Pandokrator is 911 metres in height. Small sections of cultivable (but almost totally abandoned) land are still to be found on its bare, rocky slopes. The Venetians gave the peak the name Monte San Salvatore. The view from the summit towards Barbati is incomparable. A monastery is to be found there on the site of an older building dating from 1372.

PAXI (Island) IONIAN ISLANDS
  Paxos, the baby of the Ionian Islands, is a cluster of small islands and rocky islets, the largest of which are Paxi and Antipaxos .They are located 7 miles south of Corfu, at a distance of 8 miles from the coast of Epirus in nort-western Greece and 12 miles from the town of Parga. Both Paxos and Antipaxos have a lizard-like, long and narrow shape. The islands cover an area of 19 square kilometres and 3 square kilometers respectively.
  Paxos is an island of endless olive groves and Antipaxos one large vineyard. The eastern coastlines of the island are smooth, while the west coasts are bold and abrupt with remarkable natural formations: caves, arches, dome-shaped forms, sheer cliffs etc. The capital of Paxos is Gaios, a picturesque village build around a port which is protected by two small islands, Agios Nikolaos and Panagitsa. At the northern tip of the island sits beautiful Lakka, whilst on the east coast nestles the charming village of Loggos. Today, Paxos has a permanent population of approximately 2,300 inhabitants and during the summer months, the island welcomes more than 200,000 visitors.
  The inhabitants of Paxos are warm and extremely hospitable people who possess a love for tradition yet embrace all developments of contemporary Europe. As a result the islands have been declared Cultural Village of Europe for the year 2004, an institution which aims to make know and preserve village life across Europe. As part of the celebrations in honour of being the Cultural Village of Europe, Paxos will be the hosting of many cultural events and pan-European meetings during 2004.

This text is cited Nov 2003 from the Municipality of Paxi URL below, which contains images


Paxoi Community

PAXI (Port) PAXI
Gaios is the capital of the island. The harbour is sheltered from the wind and is shallow and so suitable for smaller boats. The sea is always clean and cool because of the sea currents. The more northerly part of the harbour, Maneskos, is deeper. Larger vessels are able to dock here. The name Gaios comes from Agios Gaios, who brought Christianity to the island. His tomb is in the sanctuary of the church of the Holy Apostles, where there are some noteworthy frescoes. According to tradition, soil from the tomb has medicinal properties and can be used in the treatment of snakebite. The island's most brilliant festival is on 29th June, when there is a celebration for both the Holy Apostles and Agios Gaios.

Pelekas Community

PELEKAS (Village) CORFU
Tel: +30 26610 94211
A charming village situated at the top of Corfu's most beautiful hill. The houses of the village are painted in different colours and the quaint little streets are perfect for a peaceful walk. The view of the sunset from the top of the hill above the village is something the visitor should not miss. Kaiser Wilhelm II used to come here to enjoy it. The area is also called "The Kaiser's Throne". From here one can visit the Monastery of the Panagia Myrtiotissa, built in the 14th century. To get to it one has to go along Myrtiotissa Beach. The road to the monastery is not easy.

PERIGIALI (Village) LEFKADA
  The village of Perigiali is located on the road leading to Nydri, a short distance after Nikiana. Through the harmonious combination of natural beauty, tradition and modernization it appears both simple and wonderful and is sure to charm any visitor with its fascinating view of the verdant islets. Its beaches are many and the waters are very clean, whilst its proximity to Nydri, one of the main ports of Lefkada, makes it even more busy. It is worth taking a visit to the Kokkini Eklissia (‘Red Church’) built in 1478 which, in 1821, was turned into a base of operations for the leaders of the revolution, and also to the church of Agion Panton and the settlement of Platystomo, with its impressive panoramic vista. The folklore tradition which flourishes in the area, along with the unspoiled hospitality of the locals will never be forgotten.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Peroulades Community

PEROULADES (Village) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 95239

PETALAS (Island) ECHINADES
The island has joined the mainland because of the alluvion of the river of Achelous. The homonymous seasonal settlement is located on the eastern coast of the island.

Platrithia Community

PLATRITHIA (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 31470

POROS (Small town) KEFALLONIA
Poros is the biggest district of new Elios-Pronnoi municipality. Is a beautiful,picturesque village, surrounded by the villages Tzanata, Asprogerakas, Kabitsata and Riza. It has a population of 1500 inhabitants. Its port is a significant link between Kefalonia and continental Greece. It was rebuilt after the earthquake of 1953 , after the few fishermen’s houses were destroyed, it is harmonically constructed at the foot of the mountains Pahni and Atros. A vast indented coastline, that is 2km long, abundant in sandy beaches and leeward ports, comprises its seafront. The sea with its clear and transparent waters offers a spectacular sight with the variety of colours. The area is renowned as a fishing place, while its caves are a shelter for the seal Monachus-Monachus and the turtle Caretta-Caretta.

This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Poros Community URL below, which contains images.


Poros Community

POROS (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 95475
Fax: +30 26450 95475
  Poros is a coastal village of Lefkada, on the southeast side of the island, built among the verdant stillness, close to the sea. Its charming view of the surrounding islands and the deep clear waters of Mikros Gialos (Little Beach), ideal for swimmers, is something you will never forget. The sea reflects the vibrant colour of the nature and displays the unique, deep azure-green of the Ionian Sea. Above Poros is one of the most ancient buildings on the island. It is a watch tower which surveys Cephalonia and Ithaki, and it is for this reason that Poros can be characterized as a 'balcony' form which one can clearly see the islands of Arkoudi, Oxies, Ithaki and Cephalonia. Also in Poros you wil find traditional tavernas with excellent Lefkadian food and, naturally, the unforgettable hospitality of the Lefkadians.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

RATZAKLI (Settlement) KEFALLONIA
Ratzakli is a picturesque village, which belongs to the District of Skala. It has an exceptional view of the sea and the adjacent Katelios Bay.

RODA (Port) CORFU
Rhoda as also nearby Acharavi on the northern part of the island, offer an ideal combination of sea and mountain, while there have also been many important archaeological finds in the area. The beach is one of the most beautiful on the island, while the traditional settlement of Ano Acharavi is distinguished for its architecture.

Sami Community

SAMI (Village) KEFALLONIA
  Sami is one of the most renowned holiday resorts on the island. The area combines the beauty of mountains and sea whereas big and small ships put in at the port. Apart from the hotels and the rented rooms there is also a perfectly organised camping.
  On Aghii Fanentes hill nearby, you can visit the ruins of the homonymous monastery. Furthermore, near Sami, there are ruins of a roman building, which the locals call "Rakospito" as well as three tombs dating back to the 3rd century BC. Around Sami, there are numerous caves such as Agalaki cave, Aghia Eleousa precipice and Zervati cave. The two most important caves of the area are those of Melissani and Drogarati.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

SFAKIOTES (Municipality) LEFKADA
  According to tradition, the region of Sfakiotes took its name from the Cretans who settled here from the village of Sfakia in Crete in the 16th or 17th centuries. It is a primarily mountainous region which stretches out over a fertile valley. It includes the villages of Spanochori, Lazarata, Asproyerakata, Kavalos and Pinakochori. The growth of the villages over the years means that they have now almost joined together. Olive trees, bountiful orchards and ineyards go to create the verdant landscape which stretches out all around. The view towards Lefkada town and the Ionion Sea is magical from every point here.
  The villages of Drymonas and Exantheia also come under the Municipality of Sfakiotes. These lie on the western side of the island and, although there is less vegetation here, the view here is also breathtaking. There are many things to see here. Nature took care to furnish these parts with a rare beauty. One of these is the ravine of Melissa. Within this ravine, in between the villages of Kavalos and Apolpainas, are the remains of small settlements. Old water-mills, perhaps the island's oldest, are also located between these villages; these are mentioned in a Decree of Voltaire Bryennios which was published in 1355. This area is included in a special programme for regeneration so that all those who want to walk along pathways which will lead them to the beauties of nature will be able to visit.
  The old folks say that this is where the 'hair' would be washed, i.e. the dowries of the girls who were preparing for marriage. There are many stone bridges in the ravine and the surrounding areas, as well as wells and springs from which the crystal-clear waters still gurgle and at which the visitor can quench his thirst and rest.
  At Frya, in between Kavalos and Asproyerakata, are the remains of Turkish wells dating from 1478-1684 and which were built using a special technique. One of these supplied water to all the villages in today's Municipality. There are two ancient plane-trees in Frya, one of which is believed to have been planted in 1845.
  A wine-press belonging to the Union of Agricultural Cooperatives is also to be found here. This is an important monument directly connected to the life of the region during the period when wine-making was one of the primary forms of employment on the island.
  The wine-press of Sfakiotes was founded in 1929 and is still in operation. The Union of Cooperatives has a total of four wine-presses, the oldest being that at Vasiliki which was founded in 1927. The third is at Exantheia and the newest, which was founded in 1950 and continues to operate today, is opposite the Kastro (castle) at Ayia Mavra (Santa Maura).

This extract is cited April 2004 from the Prefecture of Lefkada URL below, which contains images


Sidari Community

SIDARI (Village) CORFU
Tel: +30 26630 95664

SIMOTATA (Village) KEFALLONIA
According to an old Lixouri saying, this village is known for the local cheese.

STAVROS (Village) ITHAKI
At a short distance from the village of Stavros lies the ancient Settlement of Pilikata. It is believed that the palace of Odysseus was situated on this hill. Excavations have brought to light a sculptured tomb and an altar from an ancient cemetery. These finds reveal the presence of human habitation on the island from the end of the third millennium B.C. In the small archaeological museum the visitor can see finds from the Cave of Loϊzos, Pilikata and the School of Homer. Amphorae, early Helladic vases, finds from the Neolithic era, Mycenaean pottery.

This text is cited December 2004 from the Ionian Islands Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image


STROFADES (Island complex) ZAKYNTHOS
The Great Strofadi or Stamfani and Arpyia are two small islands located just 25 nautical miles from Zakynthos. These islands are natural monuments. They are a port of call for rare waterfowl and their old-growth cedar forest is a marvel. The Strofades are included on the IBA (Important Bird Areas) list. The Monastery of the Virgin Pantohara, built like a fortress to protect the inhabitants from pirates, was founded by Irene, daughter of the Nikaian emperor of Theodoros Laskaris. It was later renovated under John V Palaeologos. Many well-known (and less well-known) figures have lived the monastic life at Strofades, including Agios Dionysios, the island's patron saint. When in 1716 the island was attacked by pirates, his remains were here and were desecrated by them. It was then that it was decided that they should be transferred to Zakynthos.

This text is cited December 2004 from the Ionian Islands Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image


Svoronata Community

SVORONATA (Village) KEFALLONIA
Tel: +30 26710 41220
Svoronata is made up of three regions: Svoronata, Sarlata and Domata. In the position of the mediaeval capital of Kefalonia, Travliata, are the remains of the mediaeval fortress. It was constructed in 1504, by Venetian and Cephalonian builders under the supervision of the Italian engineer Nikolaos Tsimaras.

SYVOTA (Settlement) LEFKADA
A picturesque coastal village hiding in a sheltered cove, like a fjord. Because the cove is extremely well protected from the elements, it is an ideal place for mooring yachts. All around are the verdant hills. A short distance from Syvota is Hirospilia, where Doerpfeld uncovered some neolithic finds. On the way from from Poros to Syvota one can visit the villages of Fterno, Vournikas, Sivros and Agios Ilias. From Agios Ilias one can follow a footpath to get to the summit of Mount Stavrota.

This text is cited December 2004 from the Ionian Islands Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image


Syvros Community

SYVROS (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 39379
Fax: +30 26450 39379
The whole of the Syvros region is full of a unique and varied beauty. Lower down the olive trees prevail and as the altitude increases so do the plane trees. The place has many waters and crops whilst old farmers describe how Syvros once had the greatest number of watermills, 24 in total, to serve the needs of the local population. Here and there can be spotted the springs of the Kerasia ravine, one of the most beautiful on the island. All those who love rambling will soon be able to enjoy walking along the paths which wind through the beautiful locale, taking in the wonderful natural beauties as well as the delightful forest of Daphne. The Karoucha cave, which is well worth a visit, is near Syvros

THINALIO (Municipality) CORFU
  The Municipality of Thinali is located in the north of Corfu, covering the flank of the Pantokrator Mountain Massif as far as the sea, and comprises eight villages and 39 hamlets.
  Its boundary to the north is the sea, where the beach stretches for several kilometers from Roda to Acharavi and Almiros, Agios Spiridon, Apraos and Kalamaki. It is considered to be one of the most extensive and cleanest beaches in the Mediterranean, and in set in the scenery of exceptional natural beauty.
  The coastal area of Thinali was one of the first in Greece to develop for tourism, and all facilities one expects to find in a modern town are available in the region’s centre, Acharavi, with shops, restaurants, bars and banks supplying all services a tourist might require.
(text: Hilary Whiton Paipeti)
This text (extract) is cited November 2003 from the Corfu Villas & Apartments Federation tourist pamphlet (1996).

Tsoukalades Community

TSOUKALADES (Village) LEFKADA
Tel: +30 26450 97248
Fax: +30 26450 97248
  Following the northwest route around the island, passing the pine covered Faneromeni monastery with its panoramic view of the Ionian Sea, one comes to the village of Tsoukalades. A village which has harmoniously interwoven tradition with modernity and offers peace and quiet as well as comfort.
  In the area Tsoukalades is the marvelous beach of Pefkoulia where the verdant pine trees literally touch the crystal clear sea and create a charming picture; a picture, which liberates all the senses. An invitation to all those who love exploration is the until now unexplored cave of Ai-Yiannis in the area. It is also worth paying a visit to the area of the Primary School where the sunset will charm even the most difficult visitor. In addition, a walk through the pine wood of the village, alone or accompanied, is sure to leave all nature lovers speechless.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Vassiliki Community

VASSILIKI (Village) LEFKADA
  Vassiliki is in the centre of southern Lefkada. A wonderful, classical, Greek fishing village ready to serve you on the edge of the bay of the same name. Sandy beaches, endless, crystal clear waters, deep or shallow are able to satisfy all needs. The area of Ponti has been classed as on of the best world wide for windsurfing because of the peculiar climatic conditions.
  Crowned by overgrown slopes, the area offers the visitor a wonderful sensation of nature as well as the chance to enjoy a number of activities such ads horse riding and cycling. Ferries operate continuously to and from Porto Katsiki, Agiofili, Cephalonia and Ithaki. Vassiliki also has its own nightlife, which is equal to anything on offer from the nightlife in Lefkada.
This text (extract) is cited December 2003 from the Lefkada Hoteliers Association tourist pamphlet (1998).

Velonades Community

VELONADES (Village) CORFU
  Velonades is a village in the northwest of Corfu, 31 kilometres from Corfu Town. It is located in verdant surroundings, near several lovely beaches, among them Peroulades, Saint George and Sidari.
  The prime occupation of the 1860 inhabitants of the community is olive cultivation and other agricultural activities, but during the summer they provide services for visiting tourists. Rooms and houses are available for rent in this traditional village, which also offers amenities such as bars and tavernas serving local specialities.
  The local people have preserved the traditions of the area, fro example the famous festival of the Church of the Prophet Elias, which is held on the 20th of July. The celebrations begin the evening before, and thousands of people, both Corfiots from all over the island and foreigners, gather for the event.
  Visitors who stay in Velonades are sure to enjoy the sheer tranquility of the area, coupled with the warm hospitality of the local people.
(text: Hilary Whiton Paipeti)
This text (extract) is cited November 2003 from the Corfu Villas & Apartments Federation tourist pamphlet (1996).

VIDO (Small island) CORFU
  A green paint stroke escaped the painting of Corfu and fell into the sea. Such was the creation of Vido Island, known since antiquity by the name Ptychia or the island of Hera, referred to by Thucydides, Ptolemaeus and other authors. Vido owes its present name to the French who occupied the island in 1830.
  With its sloping grounds, rocky coast, two wonderful beaches with blue-green waters and a self-growing forest with extraordinary flora and rare fauna, Vido presents a unique alternative for an unforgettable daylong excursion. Situated at a distance of 1200 m from Corfu town, it covers a surface of 550.000 square metres. The island can be accessed by a boat, which leaves the Old Port at Spilia at regular hours. The completion of Vidos’ development and promotion is one of the main targets ANEDK pursues.
  The Municipality of Corfu has financed a series of important projects on the island, like the restaurant (which can serve approximately 100 persons) in idyllic surroundings, as well as two refreshment kiosks, one on each beach. These facilities accommodate bathers, the young visitors staying at the Municipal Camping Site every year and foreign guests of the Municipality of Corfu.

This text is cited May 2003 from the Corfu Municipality Development Enterprise URL below, which contains images.


You are able to search for more information in greater and/or surrounding areas by choosing one of the titles below and clicking on "more".

GTP Headlines

Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.

Subscribe now!
Greek Travel Pages: A bible for Tourism professionals. Buy online

Ferry Departures

Promotions

ΕΣΠΑ