The monastery was built during the second half of the 10th century,
by three monks, Athanasius, Nicholas and Antonius from Adrinople, who were the
pupils of St. Athanasius of Lavra. From then onwards several buildings have been
constructed, but the most important ones, were those built during the Byzantine
period, and on the 18th as well as the 19th century, when the monastery reached
its highest peak.
It is a large monumental monastery surrounded by a tall wall, with
its buildings set on Triangle. Inside the spacious courtyard, there is the central
church, the cross-formed refectory and several chapels. Inside the central church
one can see the only existing mosaics in the Holy Mountain, while its frescoes,
painted around 1312, are attributed to the painter Manuel Panselinos from Thessaloniki.
About 50 monks live today in the monastery, where is applied an extensive
construction project in order to restore the larger buildings.
Apart from the frescoes and the masaics, the monastery has in its
possession a large number of unique portable icons, manuscripts and religious
It is open to all the world scientists, which, however, must first
contact the monastery and the 10th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities.