The church of Agios Georgios, "Saint Georges",
is situated on top of the hill of Ano
Syros. It has been the cathedral ("mitropolis") of the island’s
catholic community since 1652.
It was built in about 1200 A.D. and since then has been restored more
than 3 times. In 1617, it was destroyed by the Turks. It acquired its present
appearance after 1834.
It boasts an impressive organ as well as exquisite frescoes and statues.
The icons of Agios Georgios and the Panagia tis Elpidas
are well-known and treated with great reverence. The portrait of bishop Andreas
Kargas, who was hung by the Turks, is worth a mention.
of Historical Studies is situated at the back of the church.