Museum of Epirus' Folk Art "Kostas Frontzos"
Last Update: Jun 2010
Tel.: +30 26510 20515
02Jan - 31Dec Mon-Fri, 0900-1400
02Jan - 31Dec Mon, 1730-2000
02Jan - 31Dec Wed, 1730-2000
02Jan - 31Dec Sat-Sun, 1000-1530
Museum of Epirus' Folk Art "Kostas Frontzos" - Overview
The museum stretches today on a total area of 600 square meters of the more recent
three-storied traditional building with stone walls and a symmetric formation
on the openings of its facets, and on some additional 250 square meters of the
newly built basement.
It was built some time between 1800 and 1808 and belonged to the Arife
women or Raze and Safie, Ahmet Mousli's widow and daugther respectively. Prior
to the liberation it was housing a Turkish elementary school and later on until
1935 it was hosting the College of Education of Ioannina. Up to 1938 and also
during the 1940-1944 war, the Pedagogic Academy was also housed there but in the
post-war years it served as a Boys' High School and a Technical Training Center
In 1976, the state sold it to the Society for Epirotic Studies (SES)
that remodeled its interior to house the "Kostas Frontzos" Museum of Epirus' Folk
Art. The quality and the quantity of the collection of the museum's exhibits is
unique for the region of Epirus and is considered as one of the most significant
and equal in value to other relevant collections. The SES building has now been
Museum of Epirus' Folk Art "Kostas Frontzos" - Map
Principals / HQ / participations...
Activities / facilities / services / specialization
Art & culture
|Museum ||• Folklore |
|Museum exhibits ||• Photos collection • Household items • Furniture • Clothing/Costumes • Embroideries/ Woven fabrics • Tools • Jewellery ||
Copyright 1999-2019 International Publications Ltd.