Legend has it that the name of the village of Agrossikia originated
from the wild fig trees that smothered the area.
The village's inhabitants are by and large of Pontos origin since
the older inhabitants had pretty much moved from surrounding areas. The refugees
arrived periodically since 1934 from the areas of Pontos, Sevastia, the town of
Charsera in Argiroupolis and Farassa of Kessaria. The reason they decided to built
their new home here is the similarity of the landscape with that of the land the
left behind. They carried nothing but their memories and the icons of their Saints,
some of which are still kept in the church of St. Ioannis Chrisostomos in the
center of the village. The three cultural clubs connected with the inhabitant's
origin of St. George Chalinaras, the Cultural Club and the Farassotes Club have
undertaken the higher duty to preserve the rich cultural tradition of their ancestors. Agrossikia
is built in a picturesque landscape of unique natural beauty and is an excellent
On the evergreen hill of Profitis Ilias, where a celebration is held
every year with opulent events, the visitor can enjoy the uniquely beautiful landscape.
The Dam lake pops up first in front of the highlands of Paikos mountain. The hill
with the ruins of the ancient castle of Pelitis is witness to human presence in
the area from ancient times.