EL
Greek Travel Pages

Location information

Listed 26 sub titles with search on: Sights for destination: "KERKYRA Town IONIAN ISLANDS".


Sights (26)

Castles, fortresses & fortifications

Old Fortress of Kerkyra

Tel: +30 26610 48310-1, 48120, 47914, Fax: +30 26610 47951


New Fort of St. Mark


The new fortress, otherwise known as the fortress of Saint Mark, was built by the Venetians in 1576. The British and the French added new sections to it. Its two gateways are of particular interest.


Official pages

Statue of Schulenburg

In front of the entrance to the Old Fortress the Venetians erected a statue in honour of the German Field-Marshal Mathias von Schulenburg. They wished by this means to express their gratitude for the services he offered them during the last siege by the Turks in 1716.


Kambielo

Between the coastal road and Mouragia are the picturesque narrow streets of the town's old quarter, the "Kambielo". A characteristic part of the old town, with the oldest churches and other buildings.


Statue of Capodistrias

Situated in the Spianada, the statue of Capodistrias, the first governor of Greece after the country's liberation from the Turks, is a work of the 19th century.


Squares & gardens

Spianada

The biggest and the most beautiful square of Greece, the centre of the city. At the square took place many big parades, the procession of patron saint of Agios Spyridonas, an open-air concert, a walking and many more events.


Palaces

The Palaces of St. Michael & George

At the north end of Espianade is the Palace of St. Michael anf St. George built by the English in the early 19th century. Today, the Museum of Far Eastern Art is housed in the Palace.


Buildings

Lazaretto Islet

  Lazaretto islet is located on the NE side of Corfu island, two nautical miles from the city of Corfu. It has an area of some 17,5 acres, belongs to the state and is being administered by the National Tourist Organization. Still preserved on the islet are "the wall" against which stood those condemned to death, the two-storied building that served as the Headquarters of the Italian army and a small church.
  Lazaretto islet was a concentration camp for the prisoners of the National Resistance movement of the 1941-1944 period.


Thomas Maitland building

The building housed from 1819 the first Greek University, known as the Ionian Academy. The institution was destroyed by the German bombings in September 1943.


The Ionian Parliament

It was built in 1855.


The Palace of the Latin Archbishop

A venetian building, which was restructed after the 2nd Word War.


Reading Institute of Corfu

It is the most ancient alma Mater of Greece, which was established in 1836 by Petro Vraila Armeni and houses a unique library including 30,000 volumes of that era.


Old Prefecture

Designed by the architect Chronis, the old prefecture is a characteristic example of neo-classical architecture. It is situated in the upper part of the Spianada. The old prefecture stands on the site of the house which is the birthplace of Ioannis Capodistrias, the first governor of Greece.


San Giacomo

It is a well preserved venetian building, of which the construction began in 1663 and was concluded in 1691. At first, it was the club of the high society (Loggia), but in 1720 it turned into a theater, the first one in Greece and one of the oldest in Europe. In 1733 it became the first lyric theater in the East and since 1903 is the Town Hall of Corfu.


Town Hall

The present-day town hall of Corfu was built during the period of Venetian rule, between 1661 and 1663. It initially served as a club for Venetian naval officers and as Hall (Stoa) of the Dignitaries. Later it became the town's opera house and theatre. It is in the Renaissance style.


Peristyle of Maitland

The edifice, with columns in the Ionian style, was built in honour of the British High Commissioner Sir Thomas Maitland in 1816. It is in the Spianada.


Houses

Kapodistrias Residence

This two-storied house was built in 1845 by the architect, Chronis. The remarkable ceiling-painting inside the ground-floor is pasted on a layer of canes that is "hooked" to the ceiling.
The mansion belonged to the Kapodistrias family. After the World War II and until 1969 the building was housing the offices of the Corfu Prefecture and the upstairs area was used as residence for the Prefects.
In 1979, restoration and reconstruction works took place and today the building houses the Ionian University.

This text is cited Feb 2003 from the Hellenic Ministry of Culture URL below, which also contains image.


Dionysios Solomos Residence

Nowadays, this building houses the Dionyssios Solomos Museum and the Corfu Institute of Studies.


Mon Repos

Built in 1824 as a residence for the British high commissioner Sir Frederick Adam, it later passed into the hands of the Greek royal family. The Duke of Edinburgh was born here in 1921. After the abolition of the monarchy in 1975 it became the property of the people of Corfu.


Beautiful locations

Kanoni

Kanoni takes its name from the gun emplacement established here in 1789 by the French on the site of the present day tourist pavilion. From here one can see Pontikonisi, the Vlacherna Monastery and the Halkiopoulos Lagoon. The view is superb and the sunset an unforgettable experience.


Pontikonisi

A very famous place in Corfu with a small church of Pantokratoras.


Traditional settlements

Slip-roads in Corfu


Monuments

The obelisk of Douglas

The monument was erected to the memory of the British high commissioner Douglas, responsible for the construction of a number of important public works on the island.


You are able to search for more information in greater and/or surrounding areas by choosing one of the titles below and clicking on "more".

Ferry Departures
From

Copyright 1999-2019 International Publications Ltd.