gtp logo

Location information

Listed 7 sub titles with search on: Main pages  for wider area of: "THIRA Province KYKLADES" .

Main pages (7)



  Anafi is the at the southern side of the Assosciation, at the eastern side of Santorini.
  At the southern side of Anafi is located the small island called 'Anafopoula', both visible from the eastern side of Santorini.
   Anafi is one of the most beautiful islands in the Cyclades as it has managed to keep its natural beauty untouched. Golden sandy beaches, a dry climate and deep green waters make the island unique for all those who desire a tranquil holiday in a clean natural environment, following a simple way of life near the hospitable local people.
  Although it is a small island, it has a rich history and mythology. It was first settled in the eighth century B.C. by Dorians. After A.D. 1207 it devolved to a succession of Frankish families, such as the Foscoli, the Gozzadini, the Crispi and the Posani. In 1537 the island was pillaged by Khayr ed-Din, the pirate also known as Barbarossa.
  There are two stories to explain the origin of its name: One is related to the myth of the Argonauts, according to which the Argonauts became endangered by a terrible storm as they were returning from their expedition. Suddenly the island appeared before them, and for this reason it was called Anafi ('appeared'). The other version is related to the lack of snakes on ('An-Ofis'= 'without snakes').

This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Development Association 21th Geographical Unit URL below, which contains image.


  There is only one village on Anafi, which called Hora Anafis. It is built upon the ruins of a Venetian castle, with vaulted, dazzling white houses and narrow little stone-paved streets identical to those found in the Anafiotika area beneath the Athens Acropolis Anafi is two kilometres from the port of Nikolaos, to which it is connected by the only motorway of the island.
  There are two other hamlets on the island, which are inhabit-ed during the summer months only. These are the port of Ormos Ayios Nikolaos and the hamlet of Kleisidi.

This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Development Association 21th Geographical Unit URL below, which contains images.


  Folegandros lies between Milos (15 nautical miles) and Sikinos (five nautical miles). It is 102 nautical miles from Piraeus, has an area of 32 sq. kilometres and a coastline 40 km long. Its population is about 600. A mountainous, rocky island, its highest mountain is Ayios Eleftherios (455 metres) in the south of the island, whilst the mountain of Merovigli in the north is 312 metres high.
  The historian Aratos called the island Sidira ('iron') because of its rocky surface. Greek mythology says that the island was inhabited by shepherds who came from western Greece in search of pasturelands. Because most of the shepherds were men, the island was named Polyandros ('many men'). From this derives the sailors' habit of calling the island Polykandro.
  It was later settled by Cretans led by Folegandros, son of Minos, who gave his name to the island. The next to arrive were Dorians, the last of the island's colonists before it came under Athenian domination in the fifth century B.C. Artemis and Apollo were worshipped on the island in ancient Greek times. During the Roman period the island was used as a place of exile.
  Under Venetian rule the islanders built a castle around the main village, on the side facing the sea, so as to protect themselves from corsairs. During the period of Prankish rule the island belonged to the duchy of Naxos. In 1617 the island was captured by the Turks, ending Prankish control of the Cyclades. Under Turkish rule Folegandros paid a tribute and in 1715 it suffered great pillaging by Kapudan Pasha. After a short period of Russian control (1770-1774), the Revolution of 1821 liberated the island from Ufa Turks and united it with Greece.
  The largest village on Folegandros is Hora. It is built on the edge of a great rock, 200 metres above sea level. In Hora there is also an imposing stronghold consisting of houses, which begins in the middle of the village and ends at the edge of the precipice above the sea.

This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Development Association 21th Geographical Unit URL below, which contains images.


  Livadaki is the only part of the island which is not rocky, with a spacious, clean beach. Most of the island's produce, such as figs, olives, tomatoes, vegetables, etc., comes from this region and from Ano Meria.

This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Development Association 21th Geographical Unit URL below, which contains images.

  At the southern part of the island the famous 5km long black sandy beach is spread. There, you will be able to enjoy the sea, the sun and the available sea sports. Moreover, you can taste traditional dishes or fresh fish in the restaurants and fish taverns along the beach or just enjoy the music in the beach bars with a cold frappe.
  In Perissa there are shops, where you can purchase souvenirs and gifts, restaurants and bars.
  You might find interesting visiting the archeological places that are still being excavated, or to follow the path that leads to the top of “Mesa Vouno” mountain, where the city of “Archea Thira” is located and shows the situation that existed thousand of years ago.
This text is cited March 2004 from the Southern Santorini Tourism Trade Association tourist pamphlet.

In the 13th century, the ships of the Venetian sea conqueror Markos Sanoudos landed on Riva, who annexed the islands Thira and Thirassia for the Aegean Principality of Naxos.  The little church of Saint Irene (latin Santa Irini), that can be seen high on top above the port of Riva, gave its name not only to the settlement but to the whole island of Santorini.


  Sikinos is one of the smaller Cycladic islands. This does not however lessen the interest of the island, nor its unique charm. It is in the southern part of the archipelago between los and Folegandros. It has an area of 41 square kilometres and a population of some 300 inhabitants. The island is long and narrow. The southeast section is flat, while in the northwest there is a precipice which rises some 300 metres above the sea. Its highest mountain is Troulos (552 metres) which is located in the centre of the island. The land on Sikinos is stony although one section of it is covered in olive trees, from which comes the island's exceptional olive oil. Another of the island's excellent products is thyme honey.
   The most important hamlets on Sikinos are Horio and Kastro, which are only a few hundred metres apart. A large number of the houses in both hamlets are uninhabited today as a result of the continuous population decline. Indeed, in the last few years the residents have been living in Kastro, having abandoned Horio. They are both very pretty villages with whitewashed stone houses and narrow picturesque little roads. There is little greenery here and water is drawn from cisterns and from a small aqueduct.
   A 3.5- kilometre road connects the two main settlements of the island with the bay of Ano Pronias, also known as Alopronia, where in the past few decades a summer resort has developed. The island's harbour is here, and a pier has been built for boats as well as a small jetty for fishing boats. Nearby beaches are Ayios Georgios, Dialiskari, Ayios Pantelimon, and the unique Mavri Spilia (Black Cave).
   Kastro is famed for its authentic Cycladic-style architecture and the church of Pantanassa, which is the metropolis of the island. To the northwest of Kastro is the picturesque church of Ayios Vasilios and the Ayioi Anaryiroi. The monastery of Chrisopiyi is one of the sites most worth seeing. It resembles a fortress and was used as a refuge by the residents against pirate raids. This monastery was built in 1690 and celebrates its feast day on the first Friday after Orthodox Easter. In the middle of the monastery precinct is the church of Zoodohos Piyis ("Fount of Life"). Southwest of Hora is Episkopi, an area of archaeological interest in which there is a rectangular church with two marble Done columns to the left and right of the entrance. The prevailing view is that this was the site of the ancient temple of Pythian Apollo which was then converted into a church during the Christian period.

This text is cited Feb 2003 from the Development Association 21th Geographical Unit URL below, which contains images.

You are able to search for more information in greater and/or surrounding areas by choosing one of the titles below and clicking on "more".

GTP Headlines

Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.

Subscribe now!
Greek Travel Pages: A bible for Tourism professionals. Buy online

Ferry Departures