Main pages PYTHAGORIO (Small town) SAMOS - GTP - Greek Travel Pages

Location information

Listed 14 sub titles with search on: Main pages  for wider area of: "PYTHAGORIO Small town SAMOS" .


Main pages (14)

Miscellaneous

Chora Community

CHORA (Small town) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 91770
  The village is built on the base of Karvounis; half of it is built on the hill and the other half on the valley. The village offers an unobstructed view of the lush green valley and the sea. The distance form Pythagorio and Mitilinioi is 3 km respectively. Built on a crossroad of the main peripheral road of Samos it is an important traffic junction.
  Chora was the capital of Samos up until 1854 and from the building of that era we still find the Metropolitan Church of Saint Paraskevi, the Building of the Dieses and the churches of Saint Anna (1638), Saint Dimitrios (1605) and Panagia (1608).
  Other important buildings are:
•The building of the Hegemony (until 1854) in Mesakis square.
•The school built early 20th century.
•The Mathina's Tower which was demolished but we can still see its entrance (1749).
•It's worth noting two stone bridges on the way to Pythagorio and to Mitilinioi, the public water fountains and washrooms in Platanos and in Mesaki and the water tank of 1870.
  Nowadays in Chora there are traditional bakeries, pastry shops, cafes, bars and a variety of restaurants serving traditional Samian cuisine. During the last 100 years, Chora has been the birthplace of three Patriarchs of Jerusalem Ierotheos the 1st, Cirilos the 2nd and Timotheos the 1st. The famous poet and translator of the Homer's epic work Odyssey, Zisimos Sideris was also born in Chora.

IREO (Village) PYTHAGORIO
A lovely sea village built next to the Archaeological site of the ancient Temple of Hera. Iraion has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. The modern Iraion is an ideal holiday resort featuring a beautiful beach, hotels, restaurants, bars, cafes, shops, supermarkets, car rental companies and so on. Iraion receives thousands Greek and foreign visitors every year.

Koumaradei Community

KOUMARADEI (Village) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 41287
  The name of the village originates from the arbutus berries (koumara) that grow in the area. Most likely though it was give to the village by the surname Koumaras or Koumarades.
  The clay pots, the textiles and the aromatic herbs produced in Koumaradeoi enjoy a high reputation in Greece.
  Clay pottery workshops, traditional cafes and tavernas can be found all over the village. 2 kilometers from Koumaradeoi we encounter the monastery of Megali Panagia built in 1586. It is an important site of cultural and religious significance.
  Other sites of the village are:
•The Church of Saint Panteleimonas
•The village square
•The public school with its new park and the open air theatre
•The chapels of Saint George Saint Kostantinos and Eleni and the deserted chapel 'Twelve Doors'

Mavratzei Community

MAVRATZEI (Village) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 91298
  Three kilometers from the Monastery of Stavros, in a narrow crevasse, lays the picturesque village of Mavratzaioi.
  In the small village square, under a century old tree, there are traditional cafes, while all over the village we find unique stone built houses with well kept gardens, stone built fountains, old public washrooms, narrow paved streets. Clay pottery workshops operate in the village since its early years. Most of its inhabitants are farmers.
  The past few years the village has become a popular starting point for climbers and ramblers who wish to climb or walk the steep slopes and crevasses of mount Ampelos.
  The most important sites of Mavratzaioi are:
•The stone built Church of Saint George built in 1904.
•The Church of the Holly Cross and the chapel of Saint Spiridonas.
•The chapel of Saint Dimitrios.
•The stalactites' cave of Tripiovrahos and the cave of Kaplanotripa.
  Local festivals take place on Saint George's day and others are organized by the Association of Saint Panteleimonas in Athens.

Myli Community

MYLI (Village) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 71493
  The village is built on the banks of the river Imvrasos. Its name originates from the watermills that used to be there. The village is very well kept. It has wide roads, whitewashes houses, beautiful gardens and the village square is one of the most picturesque of the whole island. Miloi are famous for the high quality of its citrus fruits and vegetables produced in big quantities. When it was first built, 400 years ago, the village was named after the admiral Kilitzali who helped the recolonization of Samos.

Mytilinii Community

MYTILINII (Small town) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 51205
The small town of Mitilinioi, the old capital of the island, is built amphitheatrically on top of three hills in the middle of the fertile valley of Hisios. The mane of the Mitilinioi originates from the first inhabitants of this are who came from Mitilini (Lesvos). In Mitilinioi there is an important commercial activity and a vibrant nightlife. Picturesque narrow streets, churches, and beautiful cafes, make up a uniquely beautiful picture. In the following churches exist:

Pagondas Community

PAGONTAS (Small town) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 71203
  Built amphitheatrically, in 180 meters of altitude, the village offers a panoramic view of the valley of Chora and the Aegean Sea. It is one of the oldest villages of Samos, founded at the same period as Miloi.
  Its soil is very fertile and ideal for the cultivation of vine trees and olive trees. Other products of Pagondas, of high quality, are timber, cheese, honey, vegetables and fruits.
  The village boasts many sites amongst which:
•The Church of the Holly Trinity. An imposing stone built church of 1872. Opposite the church there is the church's museum with icons of the 17th century and other religious artifacts.
•The Church of Christ built the 16th century. Its bell tower is made entirely by marble and it has been declared as a national heritage site by the Greek Ministry of Culture.
•The Church of Zoodohos Pigi.
•The Church of Saint George and the Church of the Mother of Christ.
•The old public school. It has been transformed into a cultural centre and a folkloric museum.
•The chapels of Saint Paraskevi, Saint Panteleimon, Panagista, Saint Konstantinos, Prophet Elias (on an elevated position), Saint Elias Hamilos, Saint George, Panagia Varda, Saint John (Sarakini) and Saint Nicholas.
•The Church of Evagelistria.
•The old olive factory in the village.
•The deserted mills in the area of Kamara (Loggos mountain), Krio Nero, valley of Imvrasos.
•The public washrooms of the 19th century (Megali Vrisi) Local festivals take place the days of the Holly Trinity, the Mother of Christ, Saint Paraskevi and Saint Panteleimonas.
  It is worth noting the custom of Kadis during the Carnival and Father's Day organized by The Ladies Association Omonia (the first week old July).
  Lastly, Pagondas is the birthplace of the novelist Alkis Agelopoulos and the poet and writer Kostas Karathanasis.

POTOKAKI (Settlement) PYTHAGORIO
  A small settlement by the sea and a renowned holiday destination for thousand of tourists. Its beach, which begins from Pythagorio and end in Iraion, is considered by many one of the vastest beaches in the Aegean. It has been repeatedly awarded the Blue Flag of the European Union as one of the best beaches of the Mediterranean. Before its tourist development Potokaki was a fishing settlement, where there were also small distilleries of and workshops of white and green soap. During the era of Policratis Potokaki was considered a "side port" and during the Hegemony it was the seaport of Chora.

This text is cited Febr 2004 from the Municipality of Pythagorio URL below, which contains image


Pyrgos Community

PYRGOS (Village) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 41005
  A big village built in a beautiful area by the river Amphilissos. It is said that its first inhabitants came from Pirgos of the Peloponnese, thus the name.
  Narrow paved streets, traditionally built houses, old churches, tavernas and cafes make up a beautiful picture of a well-kept village. Nowadays, local products are sold in Pirgos such as aromatic herbs and honey. The old textile workshops are not as strong as they use to be.
  The village's sites are:
•The Church of Kimisis of Theotokou, built in 1888.
•The half finished Church of Saint George, built in 1904.
•The old mill of the village, which is currently undergoing restoration.
•The old Public School.
•The irrigation channel on the main street.
•The chapels of Saint Panteleimon, Saint Paraskevi, Saint John, Saint Dimitrios and Saint Kostantinos.
•Three caves, of unique beauty, with stalactites and stalagmites. The cave of Stefani with a bridge next to it, the cave of Thodoros on the 28th kilometer of the Samos to Pirgos road and the cave of the Monster of the Apocalypse.
  Finally, Pirgos was the birthplace of Kostantinos Kondaxis the general of the 1821 Revolution.

Pythagorio Community

PYTHAGORIO (Small town) SAMOS
  Pythagorio, the old town of Tigani, is the capital of the Municipality of Pythagorio. It is a beautiful picturesque town, ideal for your stay in the island during your holidays. The port of Pythagorio, constructed during the reign of Polikrates, is the oldest manmade port of the Mediterranean. Today thousands of yachts sail there all year round. The Municipal Services of Pythagorio provide the yachts with fuel, electricity, water and telephone. It also offers information for the sites of the island, cultural events, local festivals and accommodation. Pythagorio boast more than 5500 hotel and motel beds. The port of Pythagorio with more than 60 local tavernas, bars, cafes and nightclubs is considered as the best nightlife hotspot of Samos. Every morning hundreds of visitors sail from Pythagorio towards the Coasts of Asia Minor and the ancient Greek Cities of Ionia. There are also daily excursions with the typical Greek boats, the kaiki, to the amazing remote beaches of Samiopoula, Tsopela, Kako Rema, Kiriakou, Aspros Kavos and others. Amongst the picturesque narrow roads of Pythagorio we find unique neoclassical buildings, the ruins of the ancient Samos, the Square with the town hall and the archeological collection of the town.

Spatharei Community

SPATHAREI (Village) PYTHAGORIO
Tel: +30 22730 41074
  The name of the village originates from the village of Spathari in Evoia, or from Papapetros Spathas.
  Built on an elevated position it offers a majestic view of the southwest part of Samos and the sea with the islands of Fournoi, Ikaria, Patmos, Leros, Arki and Agathonisi.
  All the area until the coast and Skouraiika is a vast olive field and other cultures. Spathareoi is one of the most important olive productive villages of Samos.
  The most important sites of the village are: the stone built Church of Taxiarhes of 1580, the square, the fountain and the picturesque narrow stone paved roads.
  The port of the village is the gulf of Limnonaki. Not far from Limnonaki lays the small island of Samiopoula.
  The chapels of Prophet Elias, Saint Panteleimonas, Saint Paraskevi, the three Hierarchs, Saint Apostles, Saint Pelagia of Samiopoula.

You are able to search for more information in greater and/or surrounding areas by choosing one of the titles below and clicking on "more".


GTP Headlines

Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.

Subscribe now!

Ferry Departures

Promotions